Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love)

17 12 2010

Nope. Not one! Sorry I know everyone is BIG on Eat, Pray, Love, but I am not a fan. Yes I will be the first and probably only female to say it.

I couldn’t find a book that is so far from the truth of travel if I tried. And god knows I am trying to be closer to the traveling truth with my own. Stay tuned for my book about my navigation of the world last year.

Hint: It is not a pretty bow that is tied by a rich man in Bali.

Anyway, the point of the post today is not to bash a book. No instead it’s to highlight some of my favourites! I love to read and so would any traveler. Do you know how long the bus ride is between Cusco, Peru and Puno, Peru? I didn’t think so.

Well it’s long enough to finish a good book and start a new one! Which is exactly what you could do with my first book:

I raced through The White Tiger and not because it won the Man Booker Award. Nope. Instead I thought this book, published in 2008 as the debut novel by Aravind Adiga, offered a view of India like no other book I have read on the subject. Life is told through the eyes of the main character Balram Halwai. Though clever, Balram is too poor to finish school and takes a job in a tea shop before becoming a driver for the rich in New Delhi. In the city and watching the corruption of his employers Balram realizes that he has to take matters into his own hands! I will leave it at that. You want to visit India without the plane ticket? You want an understanding of the caste system, the conflict between Hindu and Muslim, and the poverty in an interesting narrative? You’ve got your book.

French is Funny!

Ever though the French were funny? No? Well you will after reading A Year in the Merde!

Written by a Brit, Stephen Clarke, it fictionally details another Brit’s (Paul West) attempts to move to Paris for an employer who wants to open tea rooms in the capital. Paul has been recruited by the employer. Ironic, because Paul becomes nothing more than a body in the office.

No one will listen to him when they want to name the British tea rooms: My Tea is Rich. Can you see anyone in Britain drinking in that tea room? Me neither. Want a good laugh at the mannerisms of the French? Enjoy this  book and its sequel: Merde Actually! You will find an amusing trip through France.

New York, New York

You’ve been to New York? Are you sure? Haven’t been to New York? Want another side to this capital city that never sleeps? I ran into this book, Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx while I was browsing a Barnes and Nobles while living in New York (irony, I know, crazy, right!). Anyway, I was looking for something different. I found it in this first book by Adrian Nicole LeBlanc.

Based in the post-1980’s in New York it focuses on families struggling to survive on a multigenerational level. But this is no Hollywood tale. It will take you through the Bronx, but also through each generations desire not to be the one before. And failing. Seriously, I’ve never read a better book about New York!

Number Four is just another uplifting book for you. Ever thought being addicted to drugs was funny? No? Ok well neither did James Frey. Or maybe he did. Anyway, though his book: A Million Little Pieces, was caught in a maelstrom of bad press (did he really do this or not?) it’s a good read. I love first-person narratives. I just do. So sue me. But he doesn’t let it drag and it’s not woe is me.

Why do I include this in my books? Even if Oprah has banned him from her couch? Well because it offers you a chance to travel though the eyes of a drug addict. I can happily say I am not one so why not read a book (as semi-fictional as it is) to get an idea?

Saving the World!

From a man who accomplished nothing to a man who tried to accomplish everything we visit Chechnya. I told you this is a random list of books who will make you travel.

The Man who tried to Save the World was written by journalist Scott Anderson and therefore is a succinct, but descriptive and intriguing novel on the life of Fred Cuny. Dubbed the “Master of Disaster”, Fred was one of the best relief workers there was. Unfortunately in 1995 he decided, against all advice, to return to Chechnya.

Him and a small group attempted to reach a rebel fortress that had been bombarded by Russians. They were never seen again. And you won’t be once you start this book! Gripping and a real life drama, it should definitely be part of your backpack!

Somalia

From the drama of a reported war to the war against women that rarely gets reported, From a Crooked Rib is by no means a new book.

Written in 1968 by Nuruddin Farah (a man) he somehow captures the sad, but real, struggles that women in Somalia face (and other parts of Africa). Ebla, the main character, went through the barbaric ritual of female infibulation, then an arranged marriage all before she ran away.

Unfortunately she is then sold into wedlock where she is raped on the first night of the “marriage”. She becomes disillusioned and yet continues to believe that marriage is the source of love and life. It’s a hard novel to read but an enlightening one on the struggles of women outside of my comfortable home.

From women to male piano tuners, I never said my list was organized. Neither is my book shelf which is what I like. I always get to travel to new places! Why stick with one genre? That would be boring.

So now we’re heading to Burma in colonial times. The Piano Tuner is about, of all things, a piano tuner. I know. Shocking. The reason he’s heading to Burma? Well one of the captains in the British Colonial Army has a piano in the hills. He needs it tuned.

Sounds ridiculous, but I bet it could have happened. In any case, it features the conflict between the British and the Burmese who just want their home back. In the most unique of manners – a piano. Filled with descriptions of jungles and lush food, I most definitely will make Burma a next stop!

Visit Barcelona

From Burma to Barcelona. Shadow of the Wind is the s a 2001 novel by Spanish writer Carlos Ruiz Zafón and it is amazing! I couldn’t put it down! Not once.

Based in post-civil war Spain, the books centres on a young boy Daniel who is exposed to the beauty of books by his father. In the secret Cemetery of Forgotten Books, a library filled to the rafters with old forgotten titles preserved by a secret group of librarians. New initiates (those who know about the library) can pick one book to take with them.

What Daniel finds with his new book, Shadow of the Wind, is a mysterious author and his home city filled with dark corners and unknowns. It will keep you gripped. Just please don’t read Zafon’s second book, The Angel’s Game. It will ruin The Shadow of the Wind!

So there you have it. My reading list if I wanted to travel to somewhere new without ever boarding a plane, sitting in a car or visiting a train. Enjoy!


Actions

Information

86 responses

17 12 2010
Tweets that mention Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love) « Robyn's Wanderings -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jeetesh, Robyn Skinner. Robyn Skinner said: Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love): http://wp.me/pOXSb-2hb […]

20 12 2010
Shorty

Going cross-country skiing next week and I needed a book to get me to the other side of the state… THANK YOU!!

17 12 2010
闲来话话 » Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love)

[…] this link: Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love) Posted on 2010 年 12 月 17 日 by lanshang1460. This entry was posted in Travel, 未分类 and […]

20 12 2010
ganeshmuthiah

Nice Post, i read it till end.
Thanks for the post

18 12 2010
Babygirl

Very nice list.

18 12 2010
Enn

Yes I will be the first and probably only female to say it.

No. Actually there are a lot who’ve said the same thing.

I’ll check those books, by the way. Thank you for sharing.

18 12 2010
World Spinner

Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love) « Robyn's ……

Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

18 12 2010
Azucena Goudy

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favour”.I am trying to find things to improve my website!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw here?!

18 12 2010
Other Site Like Youtube

Awesome Post & Most Important Awesome Links, Very Useful Post, I may Consider it While Moving thinking

19 12 2010
cristine

Most of the times blogs are the same but i think you have a unique blog. Grats !

19 12 2010
bagnidilucca

I loathed Eat, Pray, Love. I could barely struggle through the cliched rubbish. I threw it away.

23 12 2010
The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

I know. Unfortunately, many don’t look past the starch!

19 12 2010
Washburn P3 and DLX Guitars With Buzz Feiten Tuning System

[…] Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love) « Robyn's Wanderings […]

20 12 2010
runtobefit

I was hoping to find a new book to read! Thanks for the detailed list. Glad you didn’t pick anything too obvious.

http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

20 12 2010
SingleMomSearching

I started reading A Million Little Pieces a week ago and couldn’t get into it. I made it to page 50. I thought it was a little dull. Maybe it gets better? Think I’ll pick it up again and see.

Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

http://singlemomsearching.wordpress.com/

20 12 2010
liveinhusband

Poor “Eat, Pray, Love!” Just kidding. I enjoyed your list.

I’d add “Falling Leaves” by Adeline Yen Mah for people interested in Hong Kong. I also think that Haruki Murakami’s “After Dark” is a good book for people interested in Tokyo. One of my favorite novels, Norman Rush’s “Mating,” might be of interest for people interested in Botswana.

Of the books I’ve read this year, I’d recommend William Boyd’s “Ordinary Thunderstorms” for a tour of London’s underground and David Grann’s “The Lost City of Z” for people interested in exploring the Amazon jungle.
Ryan

20 12 2010
robynskinner

Cool! Will definitely have to check-out those books. Thanks for the suggestions.

20 12 2010
Deanna Wigmore

I love your wide definition of travel. “The Namesake” is another wonderful book that takes you to India, and then to the USA through the eyes of an immigrant family.
Traveling through reading one of its best benefits.

20 12 2010
robynskinner

I love “The Namesake” too! It was a real toss-up which book to include about India. I probably could have filled the entire list with just books about India. Maybe that will be my next post!!:)

20 12 2010
Sarah

A Million Little Pieces was a great book. it was fantastically gruesome and gives a look into a world in which very few of us could ever know. Oh, and who gives a hoot what Oprah says?? (she claims that the author shouldn’t say it’s autobiographical if some, or a lot, of the story is fictional).
The book about India sounds amazing – thats gonna be my next read! Thanks!

http://www.SarahLaGringa.com

20 12 2010
Mikalee Byerman

So guess what: You are not the first, nor are you the only female to not enjoy Eat, Pray, Love…in fact, I posted on my Facebook page a few months ago that I was in jeopardy of losing my “woman” card because I just don’t dig it!

Nice to meet a kindred spirit. Great list!

🙂

20 12 2010
Tori

Haha. Thank GOD another lady didn’t absolutely drool over Eat, Pray, Love. I read expecting to love it and walked away with this thought: “Only you, sister, ONLY you.”
Cheers on being Freshly Pressed!
-Tori
http://www.torinelson.wordpress.com

20 12 2010
Seasweetie

Great list and great perspective on “travel books”! I have had Eat Pray Love on my shelf for two years and can’t bring myself to read it. I love Stephen Clarke’s “Merde” series, and am adding Shadow of the Wind to my reading list. Thanks, and Happy Solstice!

20 12 2010
20 12 2010
Viajando Com Os Livros « A Educação do meu Umbigo

[…] Top Eight Travel Books (and not one is Eat, Pray, Love)   GostoBe the first to like this post. […]

20 12 2010
Kirsten Fisher

Love the list. Thanks.

20 12 2010
notesfromrumbleycottage

See, you are not alone in regards to “Eat, Pray Love.” I do have to give the woman props for getting someone else to underwrite her world-wide journey of self-exploration. Your list sound great and I plan to check them out. Currently I am struggling through River Horse by William Least Heat-Moon.

20 12 2010
robynskinner

Ha you’re right. I thought I was alone because of all of the hype with the film. The only slightly negative review came from a man. Good to see I’m not alone!

20 12 2010
danablair

Interesting. I had a hard time getting into Merde (I was trying to read it before I went to Paris). Maybe I’ll give it another shot.

20 12 2010
robynskinner

You definitely should. I couldn’t put it down.

20 12 2010
dearexgirlfriend

white tiger is the best book i read this decade. glad you gave it some props!
http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

20 12 2010
4myskin

Sounds like a great selection. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! 😀

20 12 2010
ilanlp14

Nice post, thanks! please check out my diet blog.

http://www.easyfatlose.info/

20 12 2010
Jupiter

Several of these look like ones I’ll be checking out. Thanks for adding more to my To Be Read List.

I have a passionate dislike for Eat,Pray,Love and I’m female. It about killed me to have to buy it as a gift for my Mom but she’ll love it.

20 12 2010
Mandy

I completely agree with you: Random Family is a great book. I’ve probably read it five times, and each time I pick up some small detail that I missed before. You are’t the only female who hates Eat, Pray, Love! Congrats on making Freshly Pressed!

20 12 2010
pirano

For the past four Christmases, and countless birthdays in between, Shadow of the Wind has been a regular gift for those on the ‘not sure what to give them’ list.

20 12 2010
Greek n Blonde

Nice post, I”ll search them in amazon, I may actually buy one, I love books and especially books I’ve never heard of or read about. It’s always a nice surprise.

20 12 2010
acleansurface

Travel books are fun, although not nearly as much fun as actually travel!

I am another woman who didn’t like Eat, Pray, Love. Too much crying and self absorption for me. I kept thinking there would be a shift, but it seemed to get worse, so I finally stopped reading.

20 12 2010
Jumping in Mud Puddles

Yay! Someone else who is not a fan of “Eat, Pray, Love.” As soon as I read that she was paid to go on her “adventure”, I realized it was pure rubbish. I hated the movie, and refuse to buy the book. Thanks for your list!

20 12 2010
robynskinner

Last year when I traveled around the world I wrote column for my newspaper at home, The Royal Gazette. The links to them should be on My Postcards page, but they have re-done their website and I’m not sure what has happened to their archive.
Anyway, the point being that while I was paid per-article it was not a sponsored trip. That meant I did what I wanted, when I wanted and there was no cliche three-country, easy selling point for my stories. They were just that: stories about traveling!
Ok now I’m on a rant. Because why can’t women just travel? Must we always be searching for something? Must it always be cliche?
Anyway, thank you for reading my blog and I’ve had a look at yours. So cute! I think it’s a great idea.

20 12 2010
capnstephel

Good list. The French book has me curious. Have you ever read anything by Bill Bryson? If not, I highly recommend you read A Walk in the Woods or Notes from a Small Island

http://tehcatspajamas.wordpress.com/

20 12 2010
robynskinner

I have read Bill Bryson’s stuff. Actually the two books that you listed. I really liked Notes from a Small Island, but the woods book lost me a bit. I think he waffled too much on stuff that interested him, but perhaps was not totally pertinent to the book! Thanks for reading me though!:)

20 12 2010
Desmond LaVelle

Blasphemous post! I thought Eat Pray Love was at the top of everyone’s list.

Personally, I think it should have been called Eat Pray Sleep. Zzzzzzzz.

http://thirteencatslavelle.com/

20 12 2010
robynskinner

Yes snooze indeed!

20 12 2010
Lakia Gordon

I have to see Eat, Pray, Love– I never saw it before. The others you mentioned seemed good too. Thanks

20 12 2010
robynskinner

I would not read or watch it to be honest. I’ve never seen the film and never will. It was painful to read.

20 12 2010
Michelle

I love that you added Shadow of the Wind to your list – it’s an amazing read! In fact, I think I might have to re-read it now that you’ve put it at the forefront of my mind again…

And PS… I agree with you about Eat, Pray, Love and A Million Little Pieces. And you’ve given me some new book ideas that I’ll have to check out. Thanks.
Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

20 12 2010
robynskinner

Thanks Michelle! Yes I loved Shadow of the Wind, but not his second book. Have you read it? It’s too bad! Enjoy the other books and thank you for visiting!

20 12 2010
Jules

AMEN on the Eat, Pray, Love. What a load of rubbish. Great blog. I will be following your travels from now on. 🙂

20 12 2010
plumerainbow

I love book lists! So thank you for writing up this one. I liked Shadow of the Wind too. And I’ll check out The Piano Tuner thanks to your write-up.

Incidentally, I also know how long the journey is from Cusco to Puno, having just came back from a 4-month solo trip myself. Great to hear that other women are doing it too!

Happy & safe travels!

20 12 2010
meltedpoo

I thought I was the only one who didn’t like Eat, Pray, Love!

20 12 2010
Allie

Oh, this is lovely! I’ve been looking for a new book (or eight!) to read, and all of them sound wonderful. Thanks!

20 12 2010
TheBlackTwig

I’m also not a fan of Eat. Pray. Love. 🙂 And I do enjoy books similar to what you have in your list. I like books that bring you to places, armed with a good plot, and provocative. I read A Million Little Pieces…quite a good read.
Books written from a specific and strong cultural perspective can also teleport you not only to places but through time. Thanks for this post. 🙂

20 12 2010
The Perfectly Imperfect One

I would rather read “Eat, Prey, Love” LOL it exists, I promise, I saw it a Barnes & Noble the other day 🙂

20 12 2010
Sudhir Krishnan

Liked your Post.The white Tiger is no the only book on India,infact most books are either on Delhi or Bombay(Mumbai).You can read the English Patient,Maximum City:Suketu Mehta ,Shantaram: Gregory David Roberts.Malgudi Days and books by R.K.Narayan for more on South India.These books are on India.

21 12 2010
Aditya Mehta

I agree. Maximum City is the best one I’ve read on Mumbai/Bombay.

The White Tiger and Slumdog Millionaire are only for people who are happy seeing India’s butt-crack.

20 12 2010
...Something To Learn...

Congrats on being freshly pressed…. love that you’ve included a million little pieces in your ‘travel’ recommendations.

21 12 2010
Rachel

What a great list of books! I’ve read a few (The White Tiger was amazing!), but I’m always looking for new books to capture my imagination and fill some time while traveling, especially on the bus. I currently live in China, so these may be a bit hard to come by at the moment, but I’ll be sure to read them asap upon my return to the States!

21 12 2010
ashleythinks

You’ve just added a load of books to my holiday reading list — thanks a lot! ha
Great selection it seems, also definitely interesting places to be discovered within them.

21 12 2010
Gbenga Awomodu

I’ve seen Eat, Pray, Love; but I’m yet to read the book. I actually found the movie rather lengthy but sat through it anyways and enjoyed it a bit.

Thanks for this list!

http://gbengaawomodu.wordpress.com

21 12 2010
Exodus

thanks for the suggestion! i’m considering books to read during my trip in March. The White Tiger looks (and sounds) so tempting to me. 😀

btw, you’re not alone on the battlefield. i’m a female and i don’t like Eat, Pray, Love (neither the book nor its adaption). 😉

21 12 2010
hearttypat

wow! This is extensive! I always wanted to read a travel book when I’m travelling, there, now I got 8!

21 12 2010
jule1

Great post. I love books. Will look into some of these based on your recommendations. And I loved “Eat Pray Love”. Really did. Hated “The Bridges of Madison County”, though, if that’s any consolation.

21 12 2010
themisanthropologist

Hi. In your list, I’ve read The White TIger, Shadow of the Wind and The Piano Tuner…all really good books, in my opinion, but I don’t think I would really consider The White Tiger or The Shadow of the Wind a “travel” book.

When I hear “travel book” I usually think of books where the main theme is about travelling, or going to a country/city. I guess The Piano Tuner could be a travel book.

Nice post though…happy holidays 🙂

21 12 2010
heman66

thanks for the list,i like the second one very much.

21 12 2010
portableking

i agree with you how to be done there?

21 12 2010
Indra

interesting list of books

21 12 2010
prasanb09

well out of d listed 1’s I do have 2 agree upon ‘the white tiger’ …
went thro d book quite fast n quite understandably..
yeah thanks 4 d other references…
wil catch up wit dem..

regards
prasan babli

21 12 2010
Luna de Júpiter

I’ll follow at least one of your suggestions. BTW, I’m another woman who’s not a fan of Eat, Pray Love.

21 12 2010
robynskinner

Gosh I had no idea until I wrote this blog that there were others out there. I mean the way they promoted the film and Oprah’s undying love for the book made me think everyone had “drunk the kool aid”. I thought it was totally cliche and if I had to read anymore about her spiritual journey I was going to throw it out the window.

21 12 2010
teapotchronicles

One of my favorites of the “travel” books that I’ve come across is “A Fine Balance.” Also an amazing look at India, of which I’m a bit obsessed.

21 12 2010
liferelinquished

These sound truly great; thanks for the suggestions! I like travel books too but prefer ones with real insight, and these look like they have it! I’ll keep them in mind.

21 12 2010
Jeannetta Vivere

I too loved ” A Fine Balance”
Forty-five-year-old Julia Jarmond, American by birth, moved to Paris when she was 20 and is married to the arrogant, unfaithful Bertrand Tézac, with whom she has an 11-year-old daughter. Julia writes for an American magazine and her editor assigns her to cover the 60th anniversary of the Vél’ d’Hiv’ roundups.

and i’ve just ordered this one a british fellow recommended to me:
“Head Over Heel: Seduced by Southern Italy”
by Chris Harrison, an australian guy meets an italian girl in dublin, they get together and he moves to southern italy.

thank you for your list, i’m always looking for good books. ok I did like eat pray love, didn’t see the movie tho

21 12 2010
robynskinner

Those sounds really interesting! I’ll definitely have to try them. Thanks for visiting. Why did you like Eat, Pray, Love out of curiosity?

21 12 2010
calogeromira

Bruce Chatwin or…?

21 12 2010
teriost

Thanks for the recommendations! I agree that Zafron’s The Shadow of the Wind was my one of my best reads of 2010. I added a couple of your suggestions to my list and would like to return the favor by suggesting “The Sparrow” by Mary Doria Russell. When a friend suggested I read it, I thought to myself, “Priests in Space? No way!” I could not put it down! If you read it – you can add space travel to your list of accomplished visits! 😀

21 12 2010
robynskinner

Ha! That sounds hilarious! I think I found my next book! I will let you know when I finish it! And let me know if you enjoy any of the books I did suggest here.

21 12 2010
Rajiv

Some reservations about Arvind Adiga’s First, great collection though 🙂 Rest on my To Read List thanks again, For perspective on India, i will suggest Old but gold, Nehru’s “Discovery of India” .

Congratulation on being FP 🙂
rajiv
http://www.rrajiv.wordpress.com

21 12 2010
robynskinner

Thanks! I will definitely try Discovery of India. I am always amazed at the selection of books on India!

22 12 2010
ridleymocki

I’m so happy you posted this! I recently bought The White Tiger as a birthday gift for my mother, and am so anxious for her to read it because I want to be reassured that it was the right book to give her. But then I stumbled across this posted and thought ‘yayah!’
And don’t worry about the ‘Eat Pray Love’ thing, I know many avid readers who didn’t like it, they thought it was shallow and apparently the main character is off-putting.
Thanks again!
R.

23 12 2010
Iheartlibrarys

I have to admit…I didn’t like Eat Pray Love either…I tried…honestly…and put it down…the movie was a snooze as well…and I work at a bookstore and have put up with people being all gaga about this book for years! I’ll be glad when the mass public moves on to something else…unless I’m being asked for the millionth time about the Mark Twain Bio!!!

24 12 2010
travelingnasia

Not exactly a travel book but a great geo-political good is “The Great Game” about 18-19th-20th century power plays by the UK,China, Russia and others around Central Asia trying to get trade routes and minerals.

Nice post.
http://travelaroundtheplanet.wordpress.com/

26 12 2010
filberty

I too loved Shadow of the Wind! It was translated well in the English language, and the story line is also great.

30 12 2010
niconica

Thanks for sharing 🙂

Cheers
Niconica
http://niconica.wordpress.com

4 01 2011
strangetributes

“And not one is Eat, pray, love” THANK GOD! WHat an awesome blog. Love it

5 01 2011
blogasarea

thank god it’s not eat love and pray and whatever else they do!

Leave a comment