Lighten your load

14 09 2010

Are you sure that's the weight of the bag? Balaza digital luggage scale $39.50

We said good-bye on a street in India.

We had been traveling around the world together, but I couldn’t handle his weight.

It was either my back or his clinginess. I chose my back. It was the right thing to do.

But how easy was it to leave my favourite shirt? It wasn’t….

But it would have been harder to face the airlines who charge you for even the slightest amount of baggage.

If I had just listened to the advice of Sheilagh Robertson, owner of Bermuda’s own luggage store: The Harbourmaster…….

Sheilagh (owner of The Harbourmast) tell me what I should have packed with me?

Tip one: focus on packing only the absolute necessities. Choose a dark anchor colour such as black or brown for pants or skirts and choose tops and accessories that will mix and match with more than one outfit.

Compression Set: $36.50(Eagle Creek packing accessories- great for sweaters and other bulky items)

Sheilagh provides these Compression sets to help reduce the bulk and size of the clothes you are bringing with you……can’t do better than that in Bermuda can you? Why order them from away when you can easily walk into the Washington Mall, Ground Floor store and have the help of the experienced staff? Uh…you have no response so do it!

And then pick up the next tip:

Woolite Soap: $7.75/$6.759-ever tried doing your laundry in a sink without a stopper?

Tip Two: Pack clothing in easy care fabrics and take some detergent for washing.

And The Harbourmaster, luckily, has convenient and light-weight packages of woollite (one even comes with a stopper for the hotel’s sink!) for your next trip.

I can’t tell you how much I wish I had known this before I went traveling around the world. Do you know what a stopper and woollite means for someone whose clothes smell like fish?

But don’t forget, says Sheilagh, that traveling is not just about keeping clothes clean, but also yourself. That’s why The Harbourmaster offers convenient and perfectly sized carry-cases for your toiletries.

Travel bottle for soaps, shampoos, etc... $13.50

Tip Three: Take the minimum sizes for all toiletries. Remember you cannot take anything larger than a 3oz. size of liquids or gels in your carry-on bag.

I wish I had planned it better. Maybe my shirt would still be with me…..ahhh I will travel light next time.