Toronto awakes from hibernation and….it’s time for sunglasses!

25 03 2012
Sunglasses required for Himalayan hillsides

Sunglasses required for Himalayan hillsides


Put your sunglasses on, because you ain’t going home till the morning comes. Frank Sinatra

Yes, the blog has been quiet for a while and hibernating much like our blogger in Toronto, Nicola Arnold. Luckily both the blog and our Toronto-based writer are back!

And what could be better to bring her back? Well spring and the sun of course. How is she going to see it? Well maybe some sunnies? Or perhaps a pair of aviators? You’ll just have to read and find out:

Clocks have changed, snow has melted, layers are unraveling, and sunshine is creeping out. And in my case, eyes are squinting.

I said adieu to my favourite sunglasses in the fall, and not just because it was wintertime. I inadvertently cut short their lifespan. One fall day in October I swung my legs out of bed and stood up. With a resounding CRUNCH (or was it just a tiny snap?), I broke my beloved red sunglasses in one swift step. Darn it!!

Now, as Canada creeps out of a wintry hibernation, I’m realizing I need to hit the shops to find another pair. For a few snowy month, who needs sunglasses? Granted there are, of course, sunny days that break up the monotony of a white winter. Then there’s the occasional winter getaway to a tropical (or sub-tropical ie. Bermuda) destination. Or even ski trips where sunglasses are required. But overall, lack of warmth = lack of sunglasses.

The French Alps, sunny side up



RIP spectacles. No, they were not expensive nor designer. No, it was not the end of the world. Replaceable of course, but they were just the best glasses I’d had in awhile and had their benefits too. It was a memorable buy – a 2-for-1 deal that I shared with my friend, buying at the same time cupcakes and enjoying a lazy spring day eating cupcakes in the park with our new summer accessories. Colourful red frames. Reflective lens making for fun photography. Sat in place without nerdy adjustments. Bought days before my 6-week trip to India (with temperatures soaring in the 40’s Celcius and sunshine beating down… much needed protection!).

We got 2 for $25... sunglasses of course, not cupcakes!



My look is attainable. Women can look like Audrey Hepburn by flipping out their hair, buying the large sunglasses, and the little sleeveless dresses. Audrey Hepburn 

Let’s take our sunglasses and make them internationally & culturally cool:

– if I had travelled to Australia or South Africa, I may be sporting some sunnies
– if I was still gallivanting around Paris or Chambery, I would be saying mes lunettes de soleil
– if I was in the US of A, I’d be rocking some shades
– if I wanted to rock out to 1980’s music, I’d would belt out Corey Hart’s “sunglasses at night“.
– if I wanted to be trendy I’d have Aviators, or Ray-Bans, or some hipster style…

The kids definitely enjoyed rocking their sunnies as well



Where had my sunglasses had the pleasure of accompanying me on my journeys? Well, bought in Hamilton, Ontario, they were then transported to the sunny beaches near Hamilton, Bermuda. Their first main trip included several weeks in India, proving to be a great photo-taking device for Himalayan hillside sunsets and Taj Mahal, amongst other sights. Next, their adventures led them to Scotland, Germany and Croatia for some summer sunshine and family/friend reunions. Finally, they settled in Toronto where they ended their days prematurely.

It’s 106 miles to Chicago. We got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark and we’re wearing sunglasses! ………. HIT IT!!” Blues Brothers movie

Visiting Taj Mahal when it was 49°C (120°F)



As the sun is here to stay, it’s time to go hunting for a new pair of sunglasses. The sunlight hours are extended and new adventures await… 🙂


Actions

Information

Leave a comment