Saying Merry Christmas around the World

25 12 2010

Merry Christmas!

Well the day has finally come!
Yes it’s December 25th. It’s Christmas. For some that’s a religious holiday.
For others, like myself, it’s simply a day to enjoy family. Yes, I said enjoy. I know, I know, but I actually do.
I mean once the holidays are over I don’t need to see them for another year…ha just kidding.
Anyway, this morning I awoke, as I do every year, to the smell of overnight coffee cake (hint: it’s made the night before and the spices get to soak in) and wishing my fam Merry Christmas!
In English of course. I mean that is my first language. But it’s not Bermuda’s only language. You didn’t know that did you.
Well let me tell you. Portuguese is the second strongest language spoken on this island. How will Portuguese Bermudians wish each other Merry Christmas? Good question.
And the answer is: “Feliz Natal”.
So “Feliz Natal” or Feliz Navidad if you’re Spanish. What if you’re Italian? Ok then Buon Natale! I mean these are just a few I am familiar with having spent enough time in Italy and Spanish-speaking countries.
That got me to thinking…..what about the rest of the world. What do they say?! Good question, Robyn. I know, I know.
So here is Merry Christmas from around the world:
The Czechs will tell you: Veselé Vánoce! (and you can too if you listen to the link!)
If the French are feeling festive they’ll tell you: Joyeux Noel!
It’s Vrolijk Kerstfeest, if you’re in Holland.
The Hungarians? No, they won’t eat you. They’ll wish you: “Kellemes Karacsonyi unnepeket”.
“Hyvää joulua ja onnellista uutta vuotta,” from Finland
“Maligayang Pasko” from the Philippines
The Germans? Why they would tell you: “Fršhliche Weihnachten!”
Want more greetings from around the world? Of course you do. Well you can visit this link for more suggestions AFTER (of course) reading the latest from Robyn’s second Wanderer, Nicola Arnold.
She brings her very special greetings from….where else?! South Africa. I know, jealous much? I am. After navigating the snow in London and the streets of Rome Nicola is finally in her Christmas Destination: South Africa.
What are her Christmas plans? How is she going to hear Merry Christmas? Well for one here’s a hint….she’s going to be outside for dinner! And for two?  In Africaans they say: “Een Plesierige Kerfees”.
 

Nicola in her Santa suit!

So Nicola, tell us what are you top five vacation experiences so far:

1) Barbequing our turkey on Christmas day – wrapped in bacon and smoked, more so – is going to be a real treat. The famous South African “braai” (bbq) is one thing we love most about visiting, and Dec 25th will be a family femy feast! Not to mention other Christmas-y things we may all recognize… mince pies, Christmas cake, and love ’em or hate ’em, brussel sprouts.
2) On a domestic flight from Johannesburg to Cape Town, I sat next to a very sweet lady who I chatted to on

Nicola on her camel in India! (a previous trip of course!)

our journey, everything from barge trips in France to my dad wearing a kilt (yes, I promise I will dedicate a who blog posting to THE KILT!). We said goodbye as we exited the aircraft, and went on our merry way. A friend came to fetch us at the airport to have tea with us before dropping us off at another friend’s house where we were staying. As we sat outside enjoying an African sunset and catching up, the neighbour dropped in to say hello… and it was none other than Estelle, my airplane friend who I had chatted with. Six degrees of separation, you say?!

3) If you have been watching the news, you may know that Heathrow airport in London has been snowed in a lot recently, and I mean SNOWED IN! But I don’t want to dwell on lost baggage (we only have hand luggage, whew), delayed and cancelled flights (c’est la vie!), but more on the fact that my dad picked up plenty attention traipsing around Terminal 5 at Heathrow wearing his kilt – compliments, stares, whistles, laughs, and from one couple trying to make it from Italy to New York, a photo request (which my dad had no trouble agreeing to!!)

Nicola (on the right) and her sister

4) Rome has a roundabout called Piazza della Repubblica, and when we arrived in Rome on Dec 17th, it was unseasonably cold and there were light flurries. As we took the bus from Termini train station to our accommodation, we passed this Piazza which has a great statue in the middle… which had been frozen with the 0C weather, and icicles were hanging from the statue where the water normally pours from. It was quite the sight! Unfortunately, the next time we drove past the same piazza, the icicles has melted and the photos were not so “n-icey” (but every bit as majestic).
5) As with every country/city, there are animals that are a bit of a nuisance or just run around all over the place in great numbers (try the squirrel in Canada, or the ferral chickens in Bermuda). As we drove around the western cape of Africa near Cape Town, we stopped to take photos on the coastal roads. One stopping point had a triangular sign with a big exclamation mark and the words “BABOONS”… beware of the cheek monkeys, as what you think is a cute animal may walk off with your picnic! Or worse, give you a nasty bite!
Merry Christmas to all, from South Africa

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 12 2010
Alette Dyter

O yes, Nicola, it is not only the baboons at Cape Point that are so clever, they actually know how to open car doors as well. Here in Durban we have the vervet monkey which wonder around our neighbourhood. They also get into houses and make a mess, nevermind those that live around schools and get on to they playground and steal the kids lunches.

29 12 2010
Nicola

It’s true, you can’t see Africa without the wild animals… whether it be guinea fowl or cheeky little monkeys! We did not end up seeing any baboons at Cape Point, but we were warned about them many times. Hopefully next time we’ll make it to Durban, but stay away from the vervet monkeys!

27 12 2010
Danielle Marconi

Hi Robyn,

I found your blog from Lauren Quaile’s posting on facebook. Although too much to take in now, I look forward to reading your past posts about your travels. I lived in Japan for awhile after Richmond, and am now back in the states. I like to take one big backpacking trip a year. I am torn between Egypt and Columbia. I saw your post on Egypt. Which one would you choose if you had 2 weeks? (I know, short amount of time…)

27 12 2010
robynskinner

Hi Danielle!
It’s great to hear from you! Japan would be amazing. I could have stopped there on my way to South America (my flight landed in Tokyo), but I just didn’t have time! To be honest, and I hate saying this, as a single female Egypt might be tricky to navigate. Unless of course you’re going with someone else. If I were you I would go to Colombia. I haven’t been, but I have heard amazing things about it. The other choice could be Chile. I loved Santiago and you’d be able to do vineyards and head north into the desert in two weeks! Let me know what you decide and if you need some advice!

Leave a comment