Ten Reasons you MUST buy an Advent Calendar

3 12 2010

It's chocolate time!

I’ve tried to stay away. I’ve walked by them in the pharmacies. I’ve seen them in store shops. But on Wednesday when I was doing my grocery shopping I couldn’t resist.

I couldn’t resist, yet I had to justify. I stood there in Lindo’s (Bermuda’s friendliest grocery store) and debated. How can I justify my need for an Advent Calendar?

Well for one and really should be the only reason: CHOCOLATE! And not just one chocolate or a box that you might sit and eat in one go this thing doles-out chocolates every day! Bring on the extra pounds I don’t care!

Just as the Advent Calendar hits your sweet tooth it also gives me a reason for being! Well a reason coupled with my coffee in the morning to be on a caffeine high! So reason two? Do I have to spell it out? A nice side-dish for your coffee.

Three, well of course it makes me feel like a kid again. I know, awww…..! I remember every morning we would scamper to the kitchen to find out what the chocolate was that day and scarf it down before the eggs were ready.

But the problem was there are three of us in my family and there was only ONE Advent Calendar. “Is it my turn yet mom?” No Robyn you only went yesterday.”

That’s the beauty of being an adult and reason four for getting to the pharmacy for one! I get to buy the Advent Calendar so I get the chocolates! Ha. Take that. Selfish? Ok maybe. So maybe I’ll share a couple.

Advent this and Advent that. Did you know that Advent stands for Coming in Latin? I bet you didn’t, but that’s what reason number five is for purchasing this chocolate maze. It made me find out what it stood for.

The coming of what? Well six is of course you have to stuff your face with chocolate. At least Christians have something to celebrate and that’s the nativity of Jesus.

Where did this all start? Apparently it all started with the German Lutherans! Yep here’s number seven for you. A history lesson (with a side of chocolate). At the beginning of the 19th Century the German Lutherans would physically count until December 24th. That include making chalk markings on the walls.

And eight is did you know when the first Advent Calendar was made? I bet you didn’t. I bet you’re glad I’m

A chocolate ear santa?

going to tell you.

Well the first Advent Calendar was handmade in 1851! The first printed Advent Calendar was made in Hamburg in 1902!

And nine is it gives you a way to see how other countries celebrate the holidays. Did you know, for example, that in NorwayDenmarkSwedenIceland and Finland there is also a tradition of having a Julekalender. It’s a TV show featuring a trio of comedic actors that has 24 episodes; one for each day until Christmas Eve.

Who knew? And for those of you, and me, who are not religious or may not be Christian what more could you ask for? What about bigger chocolates? So maybe the secular Advent Calendars are finally a way for everyone to enjoy something at the same time each year that doesn’t scream RELIGION!

Now go out and buy!