A hurricane in London….England?

9 10 2010

 

A Hurricane in England?

 

I didn’t believe it either. Nope. I scoffed at my friend’s boyfriend a couple of weeks ago when he raised the subject.

We were discussing the impending Hurricane Igor attack on Bermuda. I was pretty sure the Brit had no idea what a hurricane was about. He claimed to have suffered one in England!

Ha. Right. Sure…. You sure it wasn’t just some strong winds?

Ok now I’m eating my words. Why? I’m wandering around London looking for cheap trips from this capital city. One of them had to be to Hampstead Heath – an area where writers such as John Keats and Louis Stevenson haunted. Maybe they would inspire me?

As I wandered through the Heath here, yesterday I noticed a sign. It sat innocently enough near the path, but it destroyed any of my belief in these storms.

It claimed to represent all the trees that had been wiped-out in the hurricane on 1987 (you can try and read it yourself in my poor attempt at photography above!)

Ugh. Aghhhhh he was right! Now I’m going to have to concede. Who knew? Well I had no idea which is why I made this photo my photo of the week. A little Bermuda (hurricanes) with a little of London (Hampstead Heath).

On another note….I have now found my favourite place in London. This Heath is truly…..calming. Nah you can’t block-out the city sounds completely but the green of Parliament hill where people fly kites, read or sleep is definitely a start! With lakes and massive mansions there is a little of everything here and I loved it. What an escape.

Perhaps too much of one, however. I spent so much time in the Heath I didn’t have time to see anything else. So it’s back to Hampstead today to discover the historic figures it hides. No wonder so many literary figures haunted these hills!