Roommate? Check.

20 07 2010

Kipling on the move to college

And she seemed perfectly normal.

“So what are you going to bring?”

“Well I can’t bring much because I am coming from Bermuda. I have a CD player (does this date me or what?) I might bring so we can have music.”

“Cool, well I can bring the fridge.”

The ultimate roommate chat was done, but the worst was still to come. I rolled onto my University of Richmond, Virginia campus with my mom and whatever we could shove into the little Toyota rental. I checked-in, got my key and walked through the dark hallways to the heavy wooden door.

My room was empty so what else were we going to do? Uh…snoop of course!!! My roommate had one thing hanging in her closet – a plain white dress. In her top drawer? sock lined in a row. My mom started getting nervous. I started thinking I was in The Shining.

The shadow of a roommate returned. She was a mormon (no judgement) and she hadn’t packed anything. I was from Bermuda and had very little I could pack. We had an empty room.

Well except for my two massive suitcases that, luckily, our storage room downstairs could hold. But not so many people are lucky.

Which brings us to Tuesday. What day? yes just the second day of the work week (in Bermuda anyway) and it’s time for the Tip of the Week from…..The Harbourmaster.

What is it? Well I hate to tell you students, but it’s time to start planning for the return to school and for some that will mean packing your life into bags and boarding a plane.

So Tuesday’s Tip: Plan early! And take advantage of the Harbourmaster’s one month lay away plan if necessary. Luggage sells quickly this time of the year and shipments don’t always arrive when planned.

Convenient Kipling with duffel bag (wheels and handle included) lying in front. Matching suitcase standing to attention behind!

Kipling luggage is very popular with students because it is relatively lightweight, packs fairly flat and has proven to be very reliable.

Sheilagh Robertson, owner of The Harbourmaster (which you can find in the Washington Mall of course) says: “I recommend taking one large 30” duffel or suitcase on wheels for clothing, a carry-on bag, and possibly a second large folding duffel to take things that are needed to set up your dorm room at the beginning of the year that will stay there all year.

“Dorms have limited storage and soft bags take up less space. Most college students buy a lot of stuff second-hand after they arrive.”

Another option at The Harbourmaster? The Eagle Creek line with duffel bags that come complete with a collapsible carry bag for better storage. It’s all here in the slide show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And finally….my advice? Move-out from the Mormon before they get a chance to tell you, that you’re an “unfit roommate.”

Hey! At least I brought a CD player and I flew to two cities and drove miles with nothing more than two bulky suitcases….

I could have picked a better roommate and luggage. Now you’ve got the chance for both.

Visit The Harbourmaster for one of them!

Bags for any Trip