Row, row, row your boat to….

4 06 2010

today’s favourite photo. Yep it’s Friday so it’s that time again! Favourite Photo of the week.

Crew Yard

On a long walk from Harvard in Cambridge (yep not Boston) to the Esplanade recently I happened along every boat house on the Charles River.

Ahhh the rowing days. I was one of the ‘crew’ in High School and was even one of four that was supposed to row the Head of the Charles. Boston flooded that weekend (Oct. 1996). Go figure. My luck.

Now the international rowing event is a two-day affair to ensure it cannot flood-out.

A Bermudian, I wasn’t able to try rowing until I went to boarding school in Massachusetts. I loved it.

It’s a sport that demands teamwork. Have you tried to row the opposite direction of the other person? You’re not getting very far. Hell you might even tip the boat. Follow the leader…..if you go too quickly you’ll slam the back of the person in front of you.

So what am I saying? A great bonding experience. You’re all in the same….boat.

But what about Bermudians looking to take-up the sport. Nope! You no longer need to travel to the United States or England.

Nope the US is coming to us. The Bermuda Rowing Association is hosting a rowing coach from America starting June 26th.

Tell me that isn’t a great way to travel around Bermuda?